Former Director of Traffic police, Dr. Steven Kasiima


The Inspector General of Police, Martin Okoth Ochola has replaced the longest serving directors in the force who recently left office upon expiry of their contracts.

The directors are Steven Kasiima for Traffic who has been replaced by Bazil Mugisha, Joseph Mugisa for Fire and Emergency Rescue Services replaced by Hassan Kihanda Erasmus Twaruhukwa for Human Rights and Legal Rights replaced by Christine Nanding, Lemmy Twinomugisha for Welfare and Production has been replaced by Henry Tukahirwa. All the named new directors are in acting capacity.

Stories Continues after ad

Others replaced are

Francis Rwego former Interpol Special representative to African Union and Haruna Isabirye, police Attache’ to New York, while Richard Edyegu has been confirmed as Acting Director Logistics and Engineering replacing Godfrey Bangirana.

Ochola also made changes and appointed 70 senior police officers from the rank of Assistant Superintendent of Police –ASP and Superintendent of Police –SP to serve as District Police Commanders –DPCs, Regional Criminal Investigations Officers –RCIDs and Officers in Charge of –OC stations.

Timothy Halango has been appointed member of standby police court replacing Olivia Wawire who will be retiring soon.

Police court is a disciplinary tribunal which deals with service offences committed by its men and women.  Meanwhile Alfred Owili has been appointed Deputy Commandant Anti-Stock Theft Unit –ASTU in the Karamoja sub-region while Joseph Isabirye moves from ASTU to police headquarters.

Bernard Mugerwa has been moved from Nebbi to Lira as DPC while Benson Obongo has been confirmed Kidepo regional crime intelligence officer.

Issa Ssemwogerere moves from police headquarters to Savannah region as police spokesperson while Paul Kangave moves from Greater Masaka where he has been serving as spokesperson to police headquarters