URA CG Mr. John Musinguzi Rujoki

The Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) has said that three senior Commissioners resigned from the tax body after a Board of Directors meeting that made “recommendations concerning re-organisation of the management of URA.”

In a press statement,the URA Management said the Board of Directors met on 28th May 2020 to discuss re-organisation and management of the tax body.

Eagle Online last night exclusively reported details of turmoil at the tax-body that was largely triggered by the controversial appointment of Musinguzi Rujoki to replace Doris Akol as Commissioner General.

Stories Continues after ad

Mr Rujoki’s appointment was not well-received among senior staff at the tax-body as many doubt his leadership nous.

On 29th May 2020,four senior Commissioners;Mr Dickens Kateshumbwa,Mr Henry Saka,Mr Samuel Kahima and Mr Silaj Kanyesigye Baguma chose to resign.

In the statement,URA revealed that following the re-organisation,Mr Patrick Mukiibi would be transferred from the position of Commissioner Corporate Services to position of Commissioner Domestic Services.

Ms Patience Rubagumywa will remain Commissioner Legal Services and Board Affairs.

Mr Herbert Musoke will remain Commissioner Internal Audit and Compliance.

Herbert Kagumire will remain Acting Commissioner Customs.

Mr Mathew Mugabi has been appointed Acting Commissioner Tax Investigations.

Mr James Kiiza has been appointed Acting Commissioner Corporate Services.

Website | + posts