Mr Dombo

President Museveni has announced changes to the National Resistance Movement party leadership, announcing former Bunyole County MP Emmanuel Dombo as new Director for Information and publicity and former Kakuuto MP Mathias Kasamba as new Director for mobilisation.

Former Kanungu Woman MP Jacqueline Kyatuheire will be the new Deputy National Treasurer, while the Koboko District NRM Chairperson Medina Naham was nominated to be the new Director for Finance and Administration.
Dombo will replace Ms Mary Karooro Okurut, the Minister in-charge of Special Duties in the Office of the Prime Minister while Ms Kyatuheire replaces Kenneth Omona, who was recently appointed the Principal Private Secretary to the President.

The changes by Mr Museveni further confirm a policy he started in 2015, when he strongly argued that party leaders should occupy the positions as full-time jobs and not juggle them with other political offices.
Mr Museveni started that argument as he led the process of purging out officials that were suspected to be allied to Amama Mbabazi, who was then a powerful Secretary General and Prime Minister.

Stories Continues after ad

Mr Mbabazi was kicked out of the party and he later challenged President Museveni for the country’s number one job.
Mr Museveni, who is also the Chairman of the National Resistance Movement (NRM/0, made the changes during a sitting of the Central Executive Committee (CEC) at State House on Friday evening.

CEC will sit today to discuss the political road map of the NRM with the new office bearers set to be approved next week.