EC Village Verification

The Electoral Commission has today announced that the polling date for the presidential election will be January 14, 2021. There are eleven candidates vying for the seat including incumbent Yoweri Museveni.

The other candidates are; National Unity Platform’s (NUP) Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu, Patrick Oboi Amuriat of the Forum for Democratic change (FDC), Democratic Party’s Nobert Mao and Gen Mugisha Muntu of the Alliance for National Transformation (ANT).

Gen Henry Tumuknde is running independently just like John Katumba, a 24-year-old graduate from Makerere University, Fred Mwesigye, Willy Mayambala and Joseph Kabuleta.

Stories Continues after ad

Nancy Linda Kalembe, also running on independent ticket, is the only female candidate in next year’s presidential race.

The EC chairperson, Justice Simon Byabakama also confirmed that the presidential candidates will start their campaigns on November 9, 2020 and end on January 12, 2021.

Byabakama called upon the nominated candidates to continue observing the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) set by the Ministry of Health throughout their campaigns to curb the spread of Covid-19.

The presidential election will fall on the same date as the parliamentary elections as it has been over the previous general elections.