Cranes in training at Lugogo

Uganda will on Thursday host South Sudan in the group B 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers, before travelling to Kenya for the return leg on Monday 16, November.

The Cranes will be targeting maximum points against the lowest-ranked nation in the qualifying group to stretch the lead at the top of the table.

Head Coach Johnathan McKinstry will be without experienced center back Murushid Jjuuko, Bevis Mugabi and Taddeo Lwanga who all featured in the last qualifier against Malawi at Namboole in November last year.

Stories Continues after ad

Disan Galiwango, Brian Aheebwa and Abdul Karim Watambala are the new comers in the senior squad who will be looking forward for their debut on the big stage.

The Cranes are top of Group B in the 2021 AFCON qualifiers with four points out of the two games so far played.

South Sudan lost both of their previous two matches in this group last November to Malawi and Burkina Faso and are bottom of the group.

The match will be played at St. Mary’s stadium since Namboole stadium is being used a Covid-19 treatment Centre. It will be a closed door encounter and no fans will be allowed inside and outside the stadium.

The match will be broadcast live on FUFA Facebook page after the federation improvised with the stakeholders for fans to be able to watch the match within Uganda territory.

Messie Jessie Oved Nkounkou Mvoutou of Congo Brazzaville will be in charge of the center refereeing duties. He will be assisted by countrymate Styven Danek Styven Moutsassi Moyo and Central African Reublic’s Jospin Luckner Malonga as first and second assistants respectively.

Lazard Tsiba Kamba of Congo is the reserve referee. Tanzania’s Khalid Abdallah Mohamed is match commissioner as Rwanda’s Michel Gasingwa shall be referee assessor.

The available players:

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango, Jamal Salim, Charles Lukwago

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada, Timothy Denis Awany, Elvis Bwomono, Dissan Galiwango, Joseph Ochaya, Patrick Mbowa, Halid Lwaliwa, Ronald Mukiibi.

Midfielders: Michael Azira, Khalid Aucho, Allan Kyambadde, Allan Okello, Karim Watambala, Shafic Kagimu.

Forwards: Derrick Nsibambi, William Luwagga Kizito, Edirisa Lubega, Emmanuel Arnold Okwi, Fahad Bayo, Farouk Miya, Brian Aheebwa.


2021 Afcon Qualifiers

Thursday, 12th November 2020

Uganda Vs South Sudan

St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende (4pm)