UPDF officers

The Uganda People’s Defence Force-UPDF has sentenced seven of its officers who assaulted journalists in Kololo on Wednesday afternoon.

The journalists were covering the National Unity Platform-NUP’s former presidential candidate Robert Kyagulanyi as he delivered a petition to the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) over human rights violations in the country.

The officers are; Capt Jessy Odwenyi, Cpl Nimusiima Justine, Pte Wasswa Peter, Pte Tsame Imran, Pte Kisakye Victoria, Pte Opiyo Isaac and L/cpl Zirimenya Kassim.

Stories Continues after ad

Capt Odwenyi was sentenced to 90 days of detention in Makindye military barracks, L/CPL Zirimenya Kassim was also charged with 60 days while Captain Nimusiima Justine was sentenced to severe reprimand and caution while Pte Kisakye Victoria and Pte Opiyo Isaac were sentenced to 62 and 60 days in the military prison respectively.

Some of the assaulted journalists include; Irene Abalo (Daily Monitor), John Cliff Wamala (NTV), Timothy Murungi (New Vision) and Josephine Namakumbi (NBS).

“This is a deterrent measure to other members of the force not to engage in acts prejudicial to the good order and discipline of UPDF,” UPDF Spokesperson Brig Gen Flavia Byekwaso said.

Earlier today, the Chief of Defence Forces (CDF) Gen David Muhoozi apologized for the actions of soldiers who beat up journalists and said that UPDF will cater for their medical bills.

Website | + posts