2019 winners Proline FC

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo chaired the 24th FUFA Executive Meeting in the board room of the Executive House-FUFA Complex in Mengo and key decisions were taken.

One of the key decisions was the confirmation of Masindi Municipal Stadium in Kitara Region as the venue for the final of the 47th edition of Stanbic Uganda cup for the 2020/21 season. However the date has not yet been confirmed.

Proline are the defending champions having defeated Bright Stars 5-3 in spot kicks following a one all stalemate at Masaka Recreation grounds in 2019. In 2020, the tournament was ended prematurely at the quarter final stage due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Stories Continues after ad

The winner of Uganda Cup represents Uganda in the CAF Confederation Cup. This historic tournament has been played since 1971.

Other key decisions by the executive committee were; the FUFA Drum 3rd edition (2021) shall be played at the FUFA Technical Centre (FTC) and dates will be communicated in due course.

The Champions of the 2021 FUFA Women Super League will represent Uganda in the inaugural CAF Women Club Champions League. The Zonal qualifiers will run from July 17th to 1st August hosted by Kenya to determine the CECAFA representative to the inaugural CAF Women Club League Finals due in November this year.

Uganda will host the CECAFA U-20 Women Championship that will be hosted at the FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru. The tentative date for kick off is 22nd August 2021. Hon. Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi was appointed as the Chairperson of the Local Organising Committee.

Uganda will take part in the 2021 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup in Ethiopia. This year’s CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup will be for players falling in the U-23 Category. Uganda will field predominantly the U-20 team that reached the Final of the Total Africa Cup U-20 Tournament in Mauritania.

Morley Byekwaso will be the Head coach of the Uganda U-23 team during the 2021 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup. Simeon Masaba (Assistant Coach), Stephen Kigundu (Goalkeepers’ Coach) and Ivan Ssewanyana (Physiotherapist) are also part of the technical team.

The FUFA Executive committee approved the Airtel FUFA Awards to be organised in December this year since there have been a good number of competitions played in the season.