Anita Among swearing in

132 Members of Parliament (MPs) have been scheduled to the oath on the first day of the swearing-in ceremony.

According to the programme, the ceremony will take four days from 17th May to 20th May, and will run in two segments. It will run from 8 am to 1.30 pm. There will be break before the ceremony resumes from 2 pm to 6.30 pm each day.

This year’s ceremony has limited the number of people to accompany the new MPs to the ceremony due to Covid-19 pandemic.

Stories Continues after ad

Each MP is only allowed 3 people while representatives of the Special Interest Groups are accorded an extra person.

The remaining 397 MPs-elect will be sworn-in during the remaining three days.

The swearing in will be followed by the first sitting, at which a Speaker and Deputy will be elected. The 11th Parliament will have 529 members compared to 426 for 10th.

Website | + posts