Kamuli woman MP Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga has been sworn in for the fourth term in parliament. Accompanied by her mother, Kadaga was among the 67 legislators who were sworn in during the morning session on Tuesday 18th May 2021.

Kadaga, who has been in parliament since 1989, now awaits the decision of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) top organ, the Central Executive Committee (CEC) to endorse her or Jacob Oulanyah for the position of the Speaker of parliament.

Yesterday, CEC Chaired by National Chairman of the Ruling party, Yoweri Kaguta Museveni resolved that the election of the speaker and deputy speaker of the 11th parliament will take place on Monday 24th May 2021. The election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker is scheduled to be held at the Kololo Ceremonial Grounds.

Stories Continues after ad

Reports indicate that the 2016 CEC resolution shows that Kadaga is to serve only ten years and pass on the baton to Oulanyah.

According to article 81(4) of this Constitution, no business shall be transacted in Parliament other than an election to the office of Speaker at any time that office is vacant.  Article 82 (2), the Speaker and Deputy Speaker shall be elected by members of Parliament from among their number.  A person shall not be qualified to be elected a Speaker or Deputy Speaker if he or she is a Vice President or a Minister.

 The Chief Justice or a judge designated by the Chief Justice shall preside at an election of a Speaker, and the Speaker shall preside at an election of the Deputy Speaker

The speakership race is between Rebecca Kadaga and her deputy Jacob Oulanyah. Others contesting for the office of the speaker of parliament include; Kira Municipality MP Ibrahim Semujju Nganda and Rakai District Woman MP Juliet Kinyamatama.

Mps vying for the office of deputy speaker include; Gomba West MP Robina Rwakoojo, West Budama North MP Jacob Oboth-Oboth, Bukedea Woman MP Anita Among, Kampala Central MP Muhammad Nsereko, Ruhinda North MP Thomas Tayebwa, Theodore Ssekikubo, the Lwemiyaga County MP and State Minister for Finance David Bahati.

The deputy and Speaker of Parliament is mandated to carry out a number of duties, and key among them include presiding at any sitting of the House, preserving order and decorum in the House and making pronouncements on questions of order and practice.

Website | + posts