Parliament of Uganda

The Chief Justice, Justice Owiny Dollo will today preside over the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker at the First Sitting of the First Session of the 11th Parliament at the Kololo Independence Grounds.

All the 529 sworn in Members of Parliament will make their way to the venue starting at 10 am.

Owiny Dollo will read out the rules of the elections of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker before he calls for nominations of the candidates.

Stories Continues after ad

After members have nominated candidates, voting by secret ballot will commence, votes tallied and the winner declared.

The elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker will take oath before handing over of the instruments of power by H.E The President of the Republic of Uganda to both.

National Resistance Movement (NRM) CEC fronted Jacob Oulanyah and Anita Among as the official party candidates for the positions of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament respectively ahead of today’s elections.

Rebecca Kadaga decided to stand for Speaker as independent.

FDC endorsed Kira Municipality MP Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda and Mawokota south MP Yusuf Nsibambi for Speaker and deputy speaker.

Website | + posts