Principal Judge, Flavian Zeija

The Principal Judge Dr. Flavian Zeija has assigned 32 Judges to handle a total of 155 Election Petitions from both Parliamentary and Local Government Elections of 2021 in the different High Court Circuits across the country.

Mbale High Court Circuit will have the highest number of Judges (six) to handle 31 election petitions. Jinja Circuit and Civil Division follow with four judges each.

Arua will have 1, Fort Portal 3, Gulu 1, Kabale 1, Lira 1, Masaka 2, Masindi 2, Mbarara 1, Mpigi 1, Mubende 2 , Mukono 1 and Soroti 2.

Stories Continues after ad

The hearings for the Parliamentary Election Petitions will kick-off on August 16 and the parties in the matters will be notified when to appear at various courts by way of hearing notices.

All the earlier guidelines which were issued by the chief justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo will be followed.

All courts shall, where possible establish a temporary separate space at the court as a waiting place with social distancing for the parties whose petition hearing may not be on going at the time.

Only parties to the petitions, advocates, and witnesses specifically summoned shall attend court.

The petitions shall be cause-listed for specific times, one after the other too avoid crowds at courts.

Where the parties and the advocates in a single election petition exceed 10 in number, the trial judge shall use audio-visual facilities where it exists or use open space where possible.

Website | + posts