URA FC captain SHafic Kagimu in action against Express in the UPL

Express FC and URA FC will get to know their continental opponents when the draw for the preliminary rounds of the CAF interclub competitions takes place tomorrow Friday 13th August in Cairo, Egypt.

54 clubs have committed to participate in the 2021/2022 CAF TotalEnergies Champions League, while 51 clubs have registered for the 2021/2022 CAF TotalEnergies Confederation Cup.

The 12 best-placed national associations in the CAF ranking are authorized to enter two clubs in the different competitions. These are South Africa, Algeria, Angola, DR Congo, Egypt, Guinea, Morocco, Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia and Zambia.

Stories Continues after ad

Uganda will be represented by Express FC in the Champions League and URA FC in the Confederation Cup.

Express will represent as the 2020/21 Uganda Premier League champions while URA who were second on the log will represent in the Confederation Cup; after the season was cut short during when the country was under lockdown for 42 days.

The clubs have until August 15 to register their players. The group stages will begin in February 2022.