The 12 countries that will take part in this year’s Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) in Morocco have been confirmed after completion of the qualifiers.

Uganda’s National senior Women football team, the Crested Cranes qualified for the tournament following withdrawal of Kenya Starlets at the second round of qualification.

The Crested Cranes had earlier knocked out Ethiopia in the first round.

Stories Continues after ad

Uganda will return to AWCON for the second time, since the maiden appearance in 2000.

Defending champions Nigeria sealed their slot after defeating Ivory Coast 1-0 in Abidjan to secure their spot at the finals.

South Africa, runners up at the last tournament in 2018, also qualified following a 1-1 draw in Algeria on Wednesday.

Morocco will host the Women’s Nations Cup from 2nd to 23rd July, with the four semi-finalists automatically qualifying for the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

The twelve teams will be drawn into three groups of four teams. The final draw date will be announced in due course.

The pots were based on the team’s performances in 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations final tournament and 2022 tournament’s qualification.

Teams that have qualified are:

Pot 1: Morocco (host nation), Nigeria, and South Africa

Pot 2: Cameroon, Burundi, Zambia

Pot 3: Burkina Faso, Togo, Tunisia

Pot 4: Uganda, Senegal, Botswana

Website | + posts