The draw for the upcoming CECAFA Women’s Championship has been successfully held on Wednesday to determine the groups.

In a function conducted via zoom, the 8 teams that confirmed participation have been divided into two groups, each containing four.

Hosts Uganda have been placed in group A and will have to compete against Rwanda, Burundi and Djibouti.

Stories Continues after ad

The Crested Cranes under the stewardship of coach George Lutalo already entered camp in preparation for this tournament.

Both Uganda and Burundi will use the regional Championship as part of their preparations for the 2022 TotalEnergies Women Africa Cup of Nations in July.

Group B has Tanzania, Zanzibar, South Sudan and Ethiopia.

The tournament is expected to take place from May 22nd – June 5th 2022 at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru.

This is the second time that Uganda is hosting this Championship, the first coming in 2016.

The regional championship was last held in 2019 when Kenya beat Tanzania to win the title in Dar es Salaam.

Group A


Group B
South Sudan

Website | + posts