Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
18.5 C
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank

Cranes keeper Onyango in nominations for two CAF awards

Must read

Uganda Cranes captain and goalkeeper Denis Onyango has been nominated for two Caf accolades.

Onyango was nominated in the Player of the Year category

Onyango, who also turns up for South African side Mamelodi Sundowns, was shortlisted in the category of African Player of the Year and Player of the Year based in Africa.

The Ugandan will face stiff competition though from the likes of Victor Moses, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Mohamed Salah.

Onyango was named 2016 Player of the Year (Based in Africa) after playing an instrumental role in helping giants Mamelodi Sundowns win the Caf Champions League title last year, beating teammate Khama Billiat and Zambian Rainford Kalaba to the award.

Cranes skipper Denis Onyango was also named for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award

Eleven players made the cut for the Player of the Year and 10 for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) after votes from members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants, from the initial 30-man list.

The final three shortlisted players will be voted for by Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations and ten members from the Independent Media and TV Consultants group as well as National Team Captains.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, January 4, 2018 in Accra, Ghana.


African Player of the Year

1 Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon)

2 Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

3 Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)

4 Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)

5 Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

6 Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

7 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & B. Dortmund)

8 Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

9 Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)

10 Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)

11 Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)


Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

1 Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

2 Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)

3 Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

4 Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & El Masry)

5 Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

6 Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

7 Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)

8 Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)

9 Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

10 Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia & Esperance).

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -