On 14th January, Uganda conducted parliamentary elections with the ruling party National Resistance Movement (NRM) yet again emerging with the most Members of Parliament.

According to the preliminary results so far, out of the 499 electoral areas, NRM got 310 MPs with the closest opposition party National Unity Platform (NUP) coming with 56.

Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) managed to secure 34 seats, Uganda People’s Congress got 10 seats, and the Democratic Party with 8. PPP, JEEMA and Alliance for National Transformation all got one member each while the independents are 78.

Stories Continues after ad

NRM won massively in East, West, and Northern parts of the country but was got zero seats in the central region where NUP performed the best.

A total of 21 prominent Government officials/Ministers lost in the elections. These are; Hon. Ssekandi Edward Kiwanuka (Vice President), Hon. Judith Nabakooba (Min. of State for ICT), Hon. Kibuule Ronald (Min. of State for Water), Hon. Atim Beatrice Anywar (Min. of State for Environment), Hon. Dr Elioda Tumwesigye (Min. of State for Technology), Hon. Kibazanga Christopher (Min. of State for Defence), Hon. Mwesigwa Rukutana (Deputy Attorney General), Hon. Kamya Betty Turwomwe (Min. for Lands, Housing and Urban Development), Dr. Kasirivu Atwooki Baltazar Kyamanywa (Min. of State for Economic Affairs), Hon. Achieng Sarah Opendi (Min. of State for Mineral Development), Hon. Galabuzi Denis Ssozi (Min. State for Luwero Triangle).

Others are; Hon. Isanga Musumba Isaac (Min. for State for Urban Development),  Hon. Maganda Julius (Min. of State for East African Affairs), Hon. Prof. Ephraim Kamuntu (Min. for Justice and Constitutional Affairs), Hon. Nankabirwa Ruth (NRM Chief Whip), Hon. Nansubuga Rosemary Seninde (Min. of State for Education), Hon. Amelia Kyambadde (Min. of Trade and Industries), Hon. Ssempija Vicent Bamulangaki (Min. of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries), Hon. Muyingo John Chrysostom (Min. of State for Higher Education), Hon. Kyeyune Haruna Kasolo (Min. of State for Micro-Finance), Hon. Nakiwala Florence Kiyingi (Min. of State for Youth.)

Full list here of the preliminary results so far: MP RESULTS FINAL

Website | + posts