21.7 C
Tuesday, October 3, 2023
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank

Morocco vs USA-Mexico-Canada in bid to host 2026 FIFA World Cup

Must read

On Wednesday, 13 June, the FIFA Congress will determine whether to award the right to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup to one of the two bids.

The two bids are; one jointly submitted by the Canadian Soccer Association, the Mexican Football Association and the United States Soccer Federation, as well as the one submitted by the Moroccan Football Association. FIFA will decide on whether to select one of those bids and the host will be announced.

The 211 FIFA member nations – minus US, Canada, Mexico and Morocco, will each cast a vote. Uganda is among the 211 Members and will be represented by FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

After the controversy award of the 2018 and 2022 finals to Russia and Qatar respectively, Fifa’s 22 executive committee will no longer vote on behalf of the membership. All individual votes cast by the 211 member federations will be available for public.

A majority vote of over 50 percent is required for a bid to win, which means the Moroccan bid would need 106 votes in its favour.

Morocco has previously bid for the tournament four times which have all been overlooked – 1994, 1998, 2006 and 2010.

The United States has not hosted a World Cup since 1994. Mexico has hosted twice, in 1970 and 1986. A men’s World Cup has never been played in Canada or Morocco.

As a result of the 2018 World Cup in Russia and 2022 World Cup in Qatar, no country from either Europe or Asia was allowed to bid for the 2026 tournament.

If the FIFA congress decides not to choose either of the candidates, FIFA will then launch a new procedure by inviting all member associations – except the four that are taking part in the current process – to submit a bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

It should be noted that beginning 2026, teams playing in the World Cup will increase from 32 to 48, playing 80 matches in a period of over 31 days.

South Africa is the only African country to host the World Cup in 2010.

Website | + posts
- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -