Cricket team

Coach Steve Tikolo and the Uganda Cricket Association (UCA) Selectors have named an exciting squad of 14 and two reserve players that will represent Uganda at the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Final from May 17-25 in Kampala.

Tikolo, a legend of the game, believes the ‘Chosen Ones’ – are at the moment – the country’s best in this format (T20) and should be able to achieve the bare minimum – finishing among the top two nations that will progress to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in United Arab Emirates (UAE) from October 11 to November 3, 2019.

“We have picked the best players that we believe will do the job for the country,” Tikolo is quoted by the cricket Uganda website.

Stories Continues after ad

Tikolo adds; “These guys have worked hard and earned the right to represent their country. They know their roles and what’s at stake. We as coaches have done our bit and hopefully the guys will execute the set game plans whilst being able to enjoy their individual games.”

There are four changes from the side that helped Uganda qualify from the East Africa Region Qualifier (Africa B event) at Gahanga International Stadium in Rwanda last year (July 5-15, 2018). Uganda finished runners-up to Kenya at the four-nation event to earn the right to play here.

The tournament will feature six nations; Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria and hosts Uganda.

The top two teams will qualify for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.


Roger Mukasa Captain, Arnold Otwani, Hamu Kayondo, Zephaniah Arinaitwe, Dinesh Nakrani, Riazat Ali Shah, Deus Muhumuza, Rogers Olipa, Charles Waiswa, Frank Nsubuga, Emmanuel Isaneez, Henry Ssenyondo, Brian Masaba Vice-captain, Fred Achelam

The Reserves:

Jonathan Ssebanja, Simon Ssesazi

The Officials

Coach: Steve Tikolo Ogonji. Assistant Coach: Jackson Ogwang Oyuku

Performance Coach: Tim Kearsey. Data/Video Analyst: Alvin Bagaya Mboijana

Physiotherapist: Habiba Kulsum Anguyo Media Manager: Innocent M. Ndawula

Team Manager: Jackson Kavuma


Botswana (Winners Africa ‘C’ Regional Qualifier)

Namibia (Runners-up Africa ‘C’ Regional Qualifier & Division II World Cricket League champs)

Ghana (Winners Africa ‘A’ Regional Qualifier)

Nigeria (Runners-up Africa ‘A’ Regional Qualifier

Kenya (Winners Africa ‘B’ Regional Qualifier)

Uganda (Runners-up Africa ‘B’ Regional Qualifier)


17 May 2019: Teams Arrival

18 May 2019: Official Practice, Captains Trophy Shoot & Tournament Meeting


19 May 2019: Namibia vs. Botswana – 9.30am, Lugogo

19 May 2019: Nigeria vs. Ghana – 9.30am, Kyambogo

19 May 2019: Uganda vs. Kenya – 1.50pm, Lugogo

20 May 2019: Ghana vs. Namibia – 9.30am, Lugogo

20 May 2019: Kenya vs. Nigeria – 9.30am, Kyambogo

20 May 2019: Uganda vs. Botswana – 1.50pm, Lugogo

21 May 2019: Kenya vs. Ghana – 9.30am, Lugogo

21 May 2019: Namibia vs. Uganda – 9.30am, Kyambogo

21 May 2019: Botswana vs. Nigeria – 1.50pm, Lugogo

22 May 2019: Reserve Day

23 May 2019: Nigeria vs. Namibia – 9.30am, Lugogo

23 May 2019: Botswana vs. Kenya – 9.30am, Kyambogo

23 May 2019: Uganda vs. Ghana – 1.50pm, Lugogo

24 May 2019: Namibia vs. Kenya – 9.30am, Lugogo

24 May 2019: Ghana vs. Botswana – 9.30am, Kyambogo

24 May 2019: Nigeria vs. Uganda – 1.50pm, Lugogo

25 May 2019: Teams Departure.