Jacob Oulanyah

Omoro County Legislator Jacob Oulanyah has been declared the winner of the Speakership election which took place at Kololo Independence grounds.

Oulanyah defeated two other candidates in the race who included; the former speaker of parliament Rebecca Kadaga and the Forum for Democratic Change’s (FDC) Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda.

Oulanyah polled 310 votes while Kadaga 197 as Ssemujju garnered 15 votes. 522 out of the 529 MPs cast their votes while 7 missed out.

Stories Continues after ad

He will now be sworn in as the Speaker of Parliament.

The election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of 11th Parliament was presided over by the Chief Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo.

According to article 81(4) of this Constitution, no business shall be transacted in Parliament other than an election to the office of Speaker at any time that office is vacant. Article 82 (2), the Speaker and Deputy Speaker shall be elected by members of Parliament from among their number.  A person shall not be qualified to be elected a Speaker or Deputy Speaker if he or she is a Vice President or a Minister.

The Omoro County MP Jacob Oulanyah was nominated by Isingiro North MP Rtd Col. Bright Rwamirama and seconded by Oyam South MP, Betty Amongi.

Kira Municipality MP was nominated by Makindye West MP Allan Ssewanyana and seconded by Soroti Division East MP Attia Moses. Kamuli Woman MP who is also the incumbent was nominated by Luuka South MP, Stephen Kisa Bakubalwayo and seconded by Busia Municipality MP, Geofrey Macho.

The deputy and Speaker of Parliament is mandated to carry out a number of duties, and key among them include presiding at any sitting of the House, preserving order and decorum in the House and making pronouncements on questions of order and practice.

Website | + posts