President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni is meeting the National Resistance Movement (NRM) caucus to choose leaders of parliamentary committees in the 11th August House. The caucus is meeting at Kololo independence grounds.

The Standing committees last for two and half years. They are set up at the start of a new term of Parliament and again after two and half years. They comprise about 30 members selected by party whips.

Last week, the biggest Opposition party in the 11th Parliament designated its members to various leadership positions in the August house. They were assigned to among others; The Committee on Government Assurance and Implementation, Committee of Public Accounts (Local Government), Committee of Public Accounts (Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises) and Governance Assurance Committee.

Stories Continues after ad

The caucus is set to choose leaders to the Business Committee, Appointments Committee, Budget Committee, Committee on Equal Opportunities, Committee on Public Accounts (Central Government), Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline.

Others include; Committee on National Economy, Committee on HIV/AIDS and Related Matters, Committee on Human Rights and Committee on Climate Change.

They will also deliberate on who we lead various Sectoral Committees. These are departmentally related committees, whose composition is also determined at the start of each new session. Sectoral Committees last one session, and comprise about 30 members designated by Whips and approved by the House. Independent MPs can apply through the Clerk to Parliament to serve on committees of their choice.

The Composition of Sectoral Committees are; Committee on Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries, Committee on East African Community Affairs, Committee on Education and Sports, Committee on Finance, Planning and Economic Development, Committee on Foreign Affairs, Committee on Gender, Labour and Social Development and Committee on Health.

Others are; Committee on Information Communication Technology and National Guidance, Committee on Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, Committee on Natural Resources, Committee on Physical Infrastructure, Committee on Presidential Affairs, Committee on Public Service and Local Government, Committee on Science, Technology and Innovation and Committee on Tourism, Trade and Industry.

Website | + posts