President Yoweri Museveni has appointed five new justices of the Supreme Court and seven other judges to the Court of Appeal.

Justices Augustine Nshimye Sebutulo, Faith Mwondha, Ruby Apio Oweri, Eldad Mwangusya and Lillian Tibatemwa Ekirikubinza were named Supreme Court judges while Alphonse Owiny Dollo, Elizabeth Musoke, Paul Kahaibale Mugamba, Simon Byabakama Mugenyi, Catherine Bamugemereire, Cheborion Barishaki and Hellen Obura are now Court of Appeal judges.

Currently, Lady Justice Bamugemereire is the chairperson of the Uganda National Roads Authority (UNRA) Commission of Inquiry. Justice Mugamba has been the head of the anti-corruption court, while Prof Tibatemwa-Ekirikubinza, formerly of the Court of Appeal, was one time a Deputy Vice Chancellor of Makerere University.

Stories Continues after ad

The Supreme Court has been comprised of eight justices, and the recent appointments bring the number of JSCs to 13.

Meanwhile, before the elevation of Lady Justice Mwondha and Justices Nshimye-Sebutulo, Opio Aweri and Mwangusya to the Supreme Court, their former station, the appellate court, had 12 judges, while before the elevation of Lady Justices Bamugemereire and Obura and Justice Paul Mugamba, the High Court had 53 judges.

The appointees await parliamentary approval.

+ posts