Museveni casting his vote

Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has been announced winner of the 2016 presidential elections in Uganda, bringing his collective years in power to thirty five by 2021.
Museveni, who is also the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party flag bearer, emerged the leading contender in a tight race contested by 8 other candidates including Col Dr Kizza Besigye of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC); John Patrick Amama Mbabazi of the Go Forward ; Peoples Development Party (PDP) candidate Abed Bwanika, Farmers Party of Uganda (FPU) candidate Major General Benon Biraaro Buta and Independent candidates Prof Venasius Baryamureeba, Faith Maureen Walube Kyalya and Elton Joseph Mabiriizi.
Releasing the results today the Independent Electoral Commission boss Eng Badru Kiggundu said Museveni won with 5, 617, 503 votes, representing (60.75), while his closest challenger Dr Kizza Besigye came second with 3,270,290, representing 35.3%. Third-placed Amama Mbabazi only managed 132, 574 representing 1.43% of the total votes cast.
Candidates Abed Bwanika polled 86,075(0.93%); Maureen Kyalya 40,598 (0.44%); Prof Baryamureeba 51,086; Gen Biraaro 24,675(0.27%) and Mabiriizi 23,762(0.26%)
The FDC has however rejected the results announced by the IEC, saying the election was not free and fair.
In a press release by the FDC party president Major General John Gregory Mugisha Muntu, he urged Ugandans and the international community to reject the results released by the IEC.
meanwhile, in a related development, information available to the Eagleonline indicates that both Dr Besigye and Amama Mbabazi are under ‘house arrest’ at their homes in Kasangati and Kololo, respectively.
According to the IEC, all the other candidates scored less than 1 per cent of the vote.

Website | + posts