21.4 C
Monday, September 25, 2023
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank

Eddy Kenzo sweeps big awards at AFRIMA

Must read

It was a big night for Ugandan crooner, Edirisa Musuza aka Eddy Kenzo as he clinched top awards at the 2017 edition of the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) held Sunday at the EKO Hotel and Suites, Lagos, Nigeria.

Kenzo won two of the most prestigious categories – Album of the Year and Best East African Artiste award.

“I have had sleepless nights hustling tirelessly to make sure we go an extra mile every time. Winning best male East Africa and best album at the Afrima shows how great our God is and how He works in ways we cannot see. This is not for me alone but for mother Uganda, East Africa and Africa generally,” Kenzo noted on his social media pages.

Meanwhile, Salif Keita, Oliver Mutkudzi, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, YCee, Wande Coal, 2 baba, Adasa Cookey and Orezi were also among the winners of the night.

Full list of winners below

Best male artiste in Central Africa – Locko

Best female artiste in Central Africa – Montess

Best male artiste in Northern Africa – Shefi

Best female artiste in Northern Africa – Ibitssam Tiskat

Best male artiste in South Africa – Emtee

Best female artiste in South Africa – Thandiswa

Most influential African artiste – Neza

African fan favourite – The Dogg

Best African collaboration – Ali Beka

Best artiste in African jazz – Nduduzo Makhatini

Best artiste / group in African rock – Gilad Millo

Best in contemporary African RnB & soul – Eli Keba

Best Artiste in contemporary song – Wande Coal ( Iskaba)

Best artiste in African raggae /dancehall – 2 baba

Best artiste in African traditional – Halmelmal Abate

Best African hip – hop – Ycee

Best artiste in African pop – Tofaan

Best female artiste in inspirational – Asike

Best male artiste in inspirational – Gilad

Video of the year – Orezi ( Cooking Pot )

African legend award – Salif Keita and Oliver ‘Tutu ’ Mtukudzi

Songwriter of the year – Simi

Best African group – Toofan

African discovery of the year – Shyfan

Producer of the year – DJ Cublon

Album of the year – Eddy Kenzo

Song of the year – Wizkid

Artiste of the year – Wizkid


Website | + posts
- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -