The South African Premier Soccer League (PSL) have officially announced the list of nominees for the 2019/20 PSL Awards.

The nominees include Uganda Cranes Captain Denis Onyango, who has been nominated in the category of the Goalkeeper of the Season.

Onyango helped Mamelodi Sundowns clinch last season’s league title, keeping eight clean sheets and will face competition from Kaizer Chiefs’ Daniel Akpeyi and Ronwen Williams of SuperSport United.

Stories Continues after ad
onyango nominated

Onyangos’s Sundowns teammates Themba Zwane and Gaston Sirino have been included on the four-man shortlist for Player of the Season alongside Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park) and Samir Nurkovic (Kaizer Chiefs).

This year, there are four nominees instead of the normal three after the players were tied on votes and could not be separated even after using the provisions in the rules to eliminate names.

The awards will be held next week Thursday, 22nd October 2020 in a virtual event.


Full List of nominees:

Footballer of the Season

Samir Nurkovic (Kaizer Chiefs)

Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park)

Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Lebogang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

Ernst Middendorp (Kaizer Chiefs)

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Eric Tinkler (Maritzburg United)


Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season

Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United)

Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)

Sphesihle Maduna (AmaZulu)


Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs)

Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)


Absa Premiership Defender of the Season

Daniel Cardoso (Kaizer Chiefs)

Rushine De Reuck (Maritzburg United)

Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season

Lebogang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs)

Thabo Nodada (Cape Town City)

Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)



MTN8 Last Man Standing

Clayton Daniels (SuperSport United)

Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)

Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)



Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament:

Judas Moseamedi (Maritzburg United)

Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)



Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player

Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC)

Sifiso Ngobeni (Bloemfontein Celtic)


*(under 23)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Terrence Dzvukamanja (Bidvest Wits)

Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic)

Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns)