Migrant workers will not need certificate of good conduct
EC Village Verification

The Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development has today started the inspection of labour exporting companies to assess the level of compliance with the COVID-19 Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs).

On November 10th, Minister Frank Tumwebaze gave green-light to the labour export industry to resume business saying the ban had been lifted following the relaxing of a number of Covid-19 lockdown measures. This was to allow Ugandans seek jobs abroad.

“This is to inform all licenced companies involved in the sourcing of external employment for Ugandan migrant workers, that following the relaxing of a number of COVID-19 lockdown measures by Min of Health and resumption of air travel, Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development will be lifting the ban on labour export by licenced companies in accordance with the existing mandatory COVID SOPs for all travelers,” Tumwebaze tweeted.

Stories Continues after ad

According to a letter from Aggrey David Kibenge, the Permanent Secretary of the Gender Ministry, addressed to the Executive Director of Uganda Association of External Recruitment Agencies (UAERA), it indicates that inspection of the companies commences today Wednesday, 18th November 2020.

“The purpose of this letter therefore is to request you to inform your members that inspection exercise will commence on Wednesday, 18th November 2020 and the meeting with the relevant MDAs has been scheduled for Monday, 23rd November 2020,” reads part of the letter.

“Inspection of all licensed recruitment companies and pre-departure orientation and training institutions to assess the level of compliance with COVID-19 Standard Operating Procedures.”

Exportation of labour was suspended by the government in March this year as a means to curb the spread of Covid-19.

The industry has been one of the booming businesses in Uganda with hundreds of thousands of Ugandans currently working abroad in countries like United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Jordan.