Speaker of Parliament Jacob Oulanyah

Parliament has constituted the members of the Appointments Committee that will approve or decline all presidential designations. The committee was constituted during the fourth sitting of the first Meeting of the first session of the 11th Parliament of Uganda.

The 25 committee Members consists majorly National Resistance Movement (NRM) MPs and at least two members from each political party which has representatives in the 11th parliament.

The committee will first vet the newly appointed Vice President Maj (Rtd) Jessica Alupo and Prime Minister Robina Nabbanja. The two are scheduled to be vetted today.

Stories Continues after ad

According to the Speaker of Parliament Jacob Oulanyah, the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) will be represented by the former leader of opposition in parliament Betty Aol Ocan and Isaias Ssasaga.

The Opposition Chief Whip John Baptist Nambeshe, Kalungu West MP Joseph Ssewungu and Nalule Aisha Kabanda will represent the National Unity Platform (NUP).

Lt Gen Peter Elwelu will represent the Uganda People Defence Forces (UPDF), Alum Santa Sandra will be the Uganda Peoples’ Congress (UPC), Basalirwa Asuman and Santa Okot will represent JEEMA. Peter Okot will represent Democratic Party (DP).

The story will be updated to Include NRM representatives.

Website | + posts