Uganda rugby 7s in action

After a one-year absence, the rugby Safari 7s tournament returns in Kenya with twelve teams confirmed to participate in the two day event.

Uganda has been placed in group C alongside Portugal, Morans and Menengai Cream Homeboyz.
World Series core team Spain are among 12 teams that have confirmed participation in this year’s Safari Sevens. Spain, which finished 11th in the 2017/18 Sevens Series season, will be joined by Iberian neighbours Portugal, a former World Rugby Sevens Series core team.

Hosts Kenya will be represented by National Sevens Series champions Homeboyz, Shujaa and Morans.
The other teams heading to Nairobi include British sides Apache Sevens, Red Wailers and Samurai Sevens, South African side Cobras, Namibia and Burkina Faso, who are making their first appearance.

Kenya’s Shujaa are the defernding champions and have been grouped in Pool A alongside 2016 Africa Men’s Sevens silver medalists Namibia, United Kingdom’s Apache and Kenyan side Stanbic Mwamba who finished second overall at the Kenyan Stanbic Bank National Sevens Circuit in September.

The tournament will run from 10th to 11th November 1018 at the RFUEA Ground in Nairobi, Kenya.
The Safari Sevens is an annual rugby sevens tournament held in Nairobi, Kenya. The competition is open to international representative sides, professional and amateur clubs, invitational teams, university and school teams.

Pool A: Shujaa, Namibia, Apache, Stanbic Mwamba
Pool B: Spain, Samurai, Red Wailers, Emerging Uganda
Pool C: Portugal, Uganda, Morans, Menengai Cream Homeboyz

Uganda fixtures on Saturday, 10 November 2018:
Uganda v Morans: 10.44am
Uganda v Menengai Cream Homeboyz: 1.44pm
Portugal v Uganda: 5.06pm