Five-time winners of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) football competitions, the Parliament of Uganda is to face the EALA team in the finals slated for tomorrow, December 10.

Defending champions, the Parliament of Uganda will be playing against the EALA for the second time in the tournament, having met in the group stages played during the week, where EALA beat the Parliament of Uganda 2-1.

Earlier today, EALA beat Parliament of Rwanda by a solitary goal notched in by Ibrahim Jamal after a one-two combination with Wyclif Ketto at the Kigali Regional Stadium in Nyamirambo to book a place in the finals.


Stories Continues after ad

In another game, Parliament of Uganda beat a strong Parliament of Kenya 4-2 in post-match penalties following a goalless match in an entertaining match.

EALA started the game purposely with Wycliff Ketto missing to tap in the ball in the 5th minute with the keeper Emile Bosabose beaten.   Ernestte Nshyimiyana replied with a counter-attack after dispossessing Straton Ndikuryayo but he failed to beat the advancing EALA Goalkeeper.

Parliament of Rwanda thereafter plied pressure with creative striker, Bernard Makuza leading the attack but the defence line marshalled by Peter Asiimwe and Straton Ndikuryayo held on.

Parliament of Kenya on their part will however rue over the missed chance.  Right winger, David Ochieng had a field day, constantly running over the Parliament of Uganda left full-back, but the striking pair of Victor Munyaka and Augustin Netto failed to convert the passes.   The MP Shiniali came in and made marauding runs on the left flank.

Parliament of Uganda also raided the Kenya backline looking for an early goal.  Hon Peter Ogwang fired a volley into the net past Kenya’s keeper, Hon Kanini Kega but was adjudged to be offside.

The extra-time of ten minutes each was a balanced affair with each Parliament attacking and counter-attacking.


Parliament of Uganda scored four spot-kicks through Hassan Tindyebwa, Hon Odonga Otto, Daniel Ssekide and Hon Patrick Nsanja.  Parliament of Kenya scored through Joram Baraza and Hon Karanja while Stephen Njatta and Hon Shinali penalties hit the woodwork.

“We failed to convert our chances, we could have wrapped it in the first half but it was not our day,”Kenya’s Head coach, Sylvester Ocholla was quoted as saying.

In women’s volleyball played at the Petite Stade, Parliament of Kenya beat Parliament of Uganda by 2 sets to 0 to book a final slot with Parliament of Rwanda.  The Kenyans won both sets (25-13) and (25-15) respectively.

In the second match of the day (women), Parliament of Rwanda dismissed EALA 2 sets to 0.  Parliament of Rwanda was too strong for the EALA side whitewashing them (25-5) and (25-10) in both sets.

The netball finals are expected to be held at the Amahoro Stadium tomorrow.  Parliament of Rwanda will meet EALA in the 3rd and 4th place match before Uganda and Kenya face off to determine the winner.   Also taking place at the Kigali Golf Club, Nyarutarama is golf.