Three Kampala Capital City Authority players and their coach are on UPL Player of the Year awards shortlists, along with stars from Uganda Revenue Authority, Vipers and Jinja Municipal Council.

Joseph Ochaya, Muzamiru Mutyaba and Benjamin Ochan have been nominated for the MVP/Player of the Year award, Midfielder of the Season and Best Goalkeeper respectively thanks to their starring roles in KCCA’s remarkable Premier League title triumph.

Vipers’ Erisa Sekisambu and URA’s Robert Sentongo complete the shortlist for the senior award.

Stories Continues after ad

Ochaya helped KCCA win their 11th Ugandan topflight championship and has done well at left back for the Uganda national men’s football team, The Cranes, while Sentongo for the fourth time lifted the top scorer’s gong scoring 18 goals as the perfect foil for the ex KCCA man.

Sekisambu, meanwhile, has been a revelation for George Best Nsimbe’s team in attacking midfield registered 16 goals and 5 assists.

Actually Sekisambu’s influence at Vipers is best shown in his tally in the league and helping them win the Uganda Cup.

Elsewhere Halid Lwaliwa who was the driving force behind Vipers’ impressive attempt to defend their campaign and has received nominations in both the defender and Young Player of the Year categories.

Joining Lwaliwa on the Young Player of the Year shortlist is Soana star Musa Esenu and Sadolin Paints goalkeeper Mathias Muwanga.

In a press conference held at Mandela stadium, Namboole Boardroom, the organisers have revealed that the awards ceremony will be held at Serena Hotel, Kampala on Friday August 12, 2016.

Fans’ Player of the Year: To be determined by fans through platforms declared by the league organisers – Key Word UPL Space Name of Player and send to 8888 Via SMS

+ posts