University football league best performers with awards

The best players and teams that excelled in this years’ University Football League were rewarded with accolades and cash prizes at the inaugural awards Gala that took place at Kati Kati, Lugogo.

Kyambogo University won the title this season edging two time champions Kampala University 3-2 on penalties after a 2-2 all draw to clinch their first ever University football league championship.

Asaba Rahman, Kyambogo’s captain was voted league MVP while Derick Aritho from Kyambogo was handed the golden glove.

Stories Continues after ad

Kyambogo University football team was awarded 4 million shillings cash prize for being champions.

The outstanding players from all the Universities that took part in the competition were also awarded with an accolade and Ugx 100,000 (one hundred thousand shillings) each.

The full list of the awards

League MVP — Ashaba Racmac (Kyambogo University)

Best Coach – Vincent Tumusiime

Best Goalkeeper – Aliho Derrick (Kyambogo University)

Top Scorer – Ogwang Isaac (St. Lawrence University)

Best Sports Tutor – Lutwama Julius (YMCA)

Fair Play award – St. Lawrence University

*Each received an accolade and Ugx 500,000 (five hundred thousand shillings)

MVP from each participating University:

Uganda Martyr’s University – Lukwago Nasser

YMCA Comprehensive – Kazibwe John

Uganda Christian University – Semambo Jerome James

St. Lawrence University – Guta Musa

Nkumba University – Gwoto Fred

MUBS – Wamusi Bernard

Kyambogo University – Mwesigwa Emmanuel

Kumi University – Olupot Cuthbert

Kampala University – Buga Moses

Kampala International University – Gavamukulya Gerald

IUIU- Mubarak Kagwa

Gulu University – Mwesigwa Drake

Busitema University – Kibande Cyrus

Bugema University – Musiima Isaac

Bishop Stuart University – Maseruka Daniel

Website | + posts