FUFA logo

Nominees for the 4th edition of the Airtel FUFA Awards have been revealed by Uganda’s football governing body in a press conference held today at FUFA house in Mengo.

The final list for the nominees for the male and female Most Valuable players (MVP’s) was generated by a panel of experts – the 16 coaches in the Uganda Premier League and FUFA Women Elite league.

There are 16 categories for the awards in total, four of which will involve the general public through SMS to choose their best.

The Fans’ Favourite Ugandan player (Foreign based) will be voted via SMS by fans (Fans name of player. Send to 8888).

This year’s awards ceremony will take place on 7th December 2018 at the Speke Resort Munyonyo in Kampala.

BBS TV will broadcast live the 2018 Airtel FUFA Awards.

List of Nominees:

FUFA Player of the year 2018: Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Moses Waiswa (Vipers SC), Vianne Sekajugo (Onduparaka FC).

FUFA Female Player of the year: Tracy Jones Akiror (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals FC), Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs High School, Lubaga)

FUFA Referee of the Year: Mark Ssonko, Alex Muhabi, Mashood Ssali, Shamira Nabadda, Brian Miiro Nsubuga

FUFA Coach of the Year: Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC), Alex Isabirye (Kyetume FC), Ayub Khalifa (Kawempe Muslim), Raymond Komakech (Ndejje University), Miguel Da Costa (Formerly at Vipers SC)

FUFA Most Promising Player Award: Kizza Mustafa (KCCA FC), Geoffrey Wasswa (Vipers SC), Fred Amaku (Kirinya Jinja SSS)

FUFA Upcoming Talent (FUFA Juniors League U-19): Sadat Anaku (KCCA FC), Thomas Kakaire (Bright Stars FC), Idd Abdul Wahid (Onduparaka FC)

FUFA Best XI: Will be composed of players from the StarTimes Uganda Premier League

FUFA Presidential Award: Recipient of this award is selected by FUFA President.

FUFA Fair-play Award: The Award will go to the team with the least number of yellow and red cards last season in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League.

FUFA Individual Fair-play Award: The award will go to an individual who exhibited high levels of sportsmanship spirit that promoted fair play.

FUFA Upcoming Referee of the year (From FUFA Juniors League): Herbert Bwiire, Haula Namusoke, Bill Kitibwa, Shamirah Nabukenya, Zamuyati Kawala

FUFA Beach Soccer player of the year: Meddie Kibirige (Isabet), Isaac Eshioke (KIU), Suleiman Ochero (St. Lawrence University)

Fans’ Favourite Ugandan player of the year: This award will be determined by fans. It is limited to Ugandans irrespective of where they are playing their club football. To vote: Type FANUG leave a space player’s name and send to 8888

Fan of the Year award: This award will be determined by Uganda Premier League Secretariat

MVP (FUFA Big League): Will be awarded to the best player in the StarTimes Big League