Crested Cranes team

The Council of East and Central African Football Associations (Cecafa) has announced that eight teams will take part in the 2019 Cecafa Senior Women’s Challenge Cup.

Tanzania is slated to host the regional tournament from November 14th to 23rd in the capital Dar es Salaam.

“We have received confirmation from eight countries and we are making all preparations to have a successful tournament,” Nicholas Musonye, the Cecafa Secretary General is quoted by the cecafa website.

Stories Continues after ad

Musonye said fixtures and related information about the event will be shared with all the participants before the end of this week.

“The Tanzania Football Federation and Cecafa have proceeded to make formal application to FIFA through CAF for funds to run the event,” said Musonye.

The eight countries that have confirmed participation include; Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti, Zanzibar, Kenya, Ethiopia, South Sudan and hosts Tanzania.

Tanzania are the defending champions having won it last year in Rwanda.