Euro 2020 Trophy

The UEFA Euro 2020 tournament gets under way on Friday 11 June with Italy vs Turkey in Rome.

The competition keeps its name even though it was delayed for a year because of the Covid-19 pandemic. It will now run from 11 June to 11 July 2021 across 11 countries, separated by 4,766km.

The final will be played at Wembley in London on Sunday, 11 July. The other host cities are Glasgow, Amsterdam, Baku, Bucharest, Budapest, Copenhagen, Munich, Rome and Seville.

Stories Continues after ad

Teams will be allowed to select a 26-player squad instead of the usual 23 to lessen the load on players after a compressed club season – and give managers more options in case of Covid outbreaks.

A rule allowing each team to make up to five substitutes per game had already been confirmed.

Portugal are the defending champions having won the trophy in 2016. However with 24 teams set to vie for the trophy the 2016 losing finalists France are considered by many as the strong favourites. Spain, England, Belgium and Germany are also among the favourites.

There should be fans at all 51 games. Each city has its own rules – but fans need to wear a face mask at every game (unless they have a doctor’s certificate).

Dublin’s games were moved to St Petersburg and London, cities already hosting games, and Bilbao’s matches were switched to Seville – because neither city would guarantee allowing fans into their stadiums.

The biggest crowds could be at the 68,000-seater Puskas Arena in Budapest – which is planning to be at 100% capacity.

Wembley Stadium and Hampden Park are planning to be at about 25% capacity – 22,500 and 12,000 respectively.

Wembley, which is hosting both semi-finals and finals, could host more fans as the tournament goes on. A full house of 90,000 has not yet been ruled out for the final if Covid restrictions are lifted on 21 June.

Elsewhere, St Petersburg and Baku will have capacities of 50%, with the other cities – Amsterdam, Bucharest, Copenhagen, Munich, Rome and Seville – somewhere between 22% and 45%.

The decision on how many fans could attend was made by the individual regions/countries and not Uefa.

There is no block exemption to international travel or quarantine rules for match-ticket holders (although some countries are making exceptions), meaning supporters must obey the existing rules.

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia

Group D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany