Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
21.7 C
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank

The Ikon Awards 2024: A celebration of Ugandan Storytelling

Must read

The second edition of the Ikon Film and Television Awards happened at the Kampala Serena Hotel in an elegant black-tie affair that saw the cream of Uganda’s creative industry dressed to the tee for the black carpet experience. 

The Ikon Awards are an initiative of Reach A Hand Uganda (RAHU) as a platform to recognise and celebrate innovation and creativity in Uganda’s film and television industry. 

This year’s edition attracted 203 submissions that resulted in 26 wins including Polly Kamukama and Joseph Ken Ssebaggala’s Unheard taking home the award for Best Film, Patrick Lorimo’s Maid of Honour winning Best Screenplay, Hakim Zziwa’s Building 62 winning Best Short Film and Doreen Mirembe’s Damalie taking home the Best TV Series. 

The Lifetime Achievement award was bestowed upon Michael Wawuyo Sr. – who was hailed for his consistent support for upcoming filmmakers throughout his decades of service to the industry. 

The ceremony was attended by players in Uganda’s film and TV industry as well as the Minister of Gender, Labour and Social Development – Hon. Betty Amongi – who pledged the Government’s support for the creative industry because of its role in developing the nation. 

She said, “His Excellency the President has given us a directive for this financial year to take to cabinet and enact the law, policy and regulatory framework to handle the issue of first intellectual property because we must protect your content from plagiarism. We are also here to support you to monetise your creativity. We are also looking at incentives for investment and tax rebates and are discussing how to identify the equipment that will be used in your sector to allow you to bring in quality equipment.” 

The ceremony featured energetic performances from Coco Finger, Young Mulo, Bella, Vampino, Ziggy Dee and the Wembley dancers in a non-stop medley across four stages. 

The ceremony was also attended by special guests from Nigeria’s film industry: Ramsey Nouah; Osite Iheme; Nancy Isime, Chris Odeh and Uche Ateli – who spent some time in the country before the main event conducting a series of masterclasses with young and aspiring filmmakers under the Ikon Awards Young Filmmakers Fellowship.  

Humphrey Nabimanya, the founder of the Ikon Awards, said, “The Ikon Awards are a much-needed opportunity for us as players in the industry to come together, celebrate each other’s’ wins and network for the growth of the industry. I’d like to congratulate all the winners and also thank all the partners that have come on board to make this a resounding success. Thank you, all, and we’ll be back next year bigger and better.” 

The Ikon Awards are supported by Sauti Plus Media Hub, UNESCO, Radiant, Uganda Airlines, Kampala Serena Hotel, Next Media, Divine Resort Mukono, Sozo Films, Coal360, ATS Events, Light for the world, Aquafina, Cinema UG, Uganda Key Populations Consortium, Media Challenge Initiative, Print Creations and Ramsey Films. 

Below is the full list of winners:

Best Film 

The Kitara Chronicles – Yiga Sadat, Kizito Sudaisy Sebbowa

The Passenger – Meddy Sserwada, Hadijah Nakanjako

Unheard – Polly Kamukama, Joseph Ken Ssebaggala (WINNER)

All for Love – Okurut Nego Paul

Best Director

Joseph Ken Ssebaggala – Unheard (WINNER)

Hadijah Nakanjako – The Passenger

Yiga Sadat – The Kitara Chronicles

Patrick Lorimo – Maid of Honor

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Fauziah Nakiboneka – Maid of Honor

Jackline Katusiime – Unheard (WINNER)

Rehema Mutesi – Ganyana

Tania Shakirah Kankindi – All for Love

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Kenneth Rukundo – All for Love

Fenando Kamugisha – The Fallen Advocate

Henry Nathan Katongole – The Passenger (WINNER)

Masadde Isa Yusuf – The Kitara Chronicles

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Joseph Kahirimbanyi – Unheard

Mathew Kavuma – Maid of Honor

Blair Koono – Enkuba (WINNER)

Sulait Mulimira – Ganyana

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Edith Baganda – Maid of Honor

Allen Musumba – The Passenger (WINNER)

Diana Kahunde – All for Love

Florence Naiga – Ganyana

Best Director of Photography

The Fallen Advocate – Benson Kamau Muigai

The Passenger – Izaek Ekuka (WINNER)

Unheard – Kitsha Kyasi Joseph

The Kitara Chronicles – Kizito Sudaisy Sebbowa

Best Screenplay

The Kitara Chronicles by Yiga Sadat, Masadde Isa Yusuf

The Passenger by Meddy Sserwada

Maid of Honor by Patrick Lorimo (WINNER)

Unheard by Polly Kamukama

Best Sound

Elly Musinguzi – Nkwanzi’s Slip

Simon Agola, Michael Kavuma – Maid of Honor

Isiko Abubaker – The Passenger

Kaz Kasozi – Unheard (WINNER)

Best Editor

Emma Daka Waira – The Passenger (WINNER)

Joseph Ken Ssebaggala – Unheard

Derrick Taremwa – Enkuba

Okurut Nego Paul – All for Love

Best Costume Design

Nabanja Hikmah, Lukwago Paluku, Tumusiime Jackie – The Kitara Chronicles (WINNER)

Kyosiima Ginny – Unheard

Matilda Kavuma – Maid of Honor

Julian Kirabo, Ali Musinguzi, Isaac Kyakoonye, Patricia Nabirye – The Tale of Our Times

Best Makeup and Special Effects

Esther Nakaziba – Maid of Honor

Rose Lily Kebirungi – Unheard (WINNER)

Lisa Sonia, Shadia Nakaddu, Cathy Kyokunda, Joana Nabakiibi – The Tale of Our Times

Hikmah Nabbanja, Patience Nakibuka Shadia – The Kitara Chronicles

Best Production Design

Francis Byaruhanga – Unheard (WINNER)

Rutaro Abel – The Tale of Our Times

Yiga Sadat – The Kitara Chronicles

Imran Musabeh – The Passenger

Best Visual Effects

Cruz Abdullah, Faisal Mukalazi, Patrick Chris Black – The Tale of Our Times

Tusingwire Alex – The Kitara Chronicles (WINNER)

Wavamuno Caeser, Suuna Abubakar – Enkuba

Best Short Film

Taama – Arthur Nsubuga

Ziwa – Samuel Tebandeke

Building 62 – Hakim Zziwa (WINNER)

The Last Shoemaker – Ali Musoke

Best Documentary

The Shadow Pandemic – Ssekandi Jimmy (WINNER)

The Land of Peace – Ali Kibirige, Herbert Jjuuko, James Twino

Dear Queen – Jamir Jamal Musenze

 Best Animation Film

The Guardian – Denis Junior Dhikusooka

Herderboy – Raymond Malinga (WINNER)

Lost – Ashiraf Mulima

Best TV Series

Prestige – Nathan Magoola

Damalie – Doreen Mirembe (WINNER)

Beloved – Nathan Magoola

Best Actor in a TV Series

Raymond Rushabiro – Prestige

Dennis Kinani – Damalie

Symon Base Kalema – Prestige (WINNER)

Best Actress in a TV Series

Doreen Mirembe – Damalie (WINNER)

Sally Elizabeth Bwamimpeke – Prestige

Faith Kirabo – Beloved

Best Student Film

Find Me Online – Brian “Vons” Mukisa

I Sold Me Out – Lubeera Saphina

Scold’s Bridle – Ssemwogerere Nurudeen

Silent Scream – Otim Gerald (WINNER)

Ikon Rising Star

Faith Kirabo

Joseph Kahirimbanyi

King Missy Ochola (WINNER)

Ikon Rising Star (Africa)

Nancy Isime

Lifetime Achievement Award

Michael Wawuyo Sr.

Emerging Film Award


African Ikon Award

Osita Iheme

- Advertisement -

More articles


- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -