Chief of Defence Forces Gen. Katumba Wamala

Top commanders of the UPDF are in Bombo, the headquarters of the Land Forces, to elect their 10 representatives to the 10th Parliament.

The spokesperson of Land Forces, Maj Stanley Malisaba said the elections will be conducted by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) starting at 3pm.

“The nominees will be presented before the Army Council and thereafter elections will be held,” he said.

Stories Continues after ad

President Museveni is expected to chair the Army Council meeting and later read out the names of the nominees before voting begins.

The UPDF has been represented in the 9th Parliament by the Chief of Defence Forces (CDF) Gen Edward Katumba Wamala, Elly Tumwine Tuhirirwe, Gen David Sejusa aka Tinyefuza, Gen Robert Aronda Nyakairima (RIP) Lt Gen Charles Angina, Lt Gen Jim Oweyesigire, Maj Gen Julius Oketta Facki, Brigadier Phinehas Manoni Katirima, Major Sarah Patience Mpabwa and Major Susan Lakot.TUMWINEGen Elly Tumwine

By press time EagleOnline had not managed to get the names of the new UPDF nominees.

Deputy CDF Lt Gen Charles Angina
Deputy CDF Lt Gen Charles Angina




Website | + posts

Seasoned Writer